Warm Lemon Water

warm-lemon-water

My friends know my morning ritual. No matter where I am or how busy things become, I get in the morning, do a couple sun salutations and drink warm lemon water, workout and have breakfast.  I love lemons and always have tons of lemons in my fridge. I use them for cooking, warm lemon water, and even in DIY beauty recipes.

I’ve been drinking warm lemon water a few years and it’s one of the best habits I’ve incorporated.  It is a great and healthy way to start the day, and it makes me feel good to do something for myself. Some people may be skeptical of its benefits, but several of my friends and clients have also started drinking warm lemon water and rave about its benefits.  And when they do, I bite my tongue down to refrain from saying “I told you so!”

How to drink warm lemon water

  1. Ideally, warm lemon water should be consumed in the morning, after brushing your teeth, on an empty stomach to maximize its benefits.
  2. Water should be slightly warmer than room temperature, but not boiling hot. Hot water is not ideal because it can kill the enzymes in the lemons.
  3. Juice at least 1/3 lemon in 16oz of warm water. If 16oz feels like too much, start with 8oz and work your way up.
  4. Usually, I drink to drink plain warm lemon water, but you can also try to add a pinch of cayenne or fresh grated ginger.
  5. When traveling you can pack a few lemons in your luggage or you can order warm lemon water at a restaurant when dining out.

Benefits of Warm Lemon Water

  • Hydrates – After sleeping for 7-8 hours, the body can become dehydrated from a lack of water. Warm lemon water hydrates and rejuvenates the body. In contrast, drinking coffee on an empty stomach further dehydrates because it has a diuretic effect. If you want to consume coffee, you can still do it by drinking water lemon water first, and then having coffee.
  • Warms – Warm lemon water instantly warms the body and has a calming effect.
  • Detoxes – Warm lemon water detoxes the liver, kidneys and other internal organs, improves digestion, and leads to a stronger immune system and clearer and brighter skin.
  • Alkalizes – Although lemon juice is acidic, once it enters the body, it has an alkalizing effect. An alkaline system may also be less susceptible to disease and illness than an acidic system.

So, the next time life hands you lemons, ask for more because you will need them for warm lemon water!

Leave a Reply

