All About That Pit

deo

 

I am always looking for fun and interesting ways to live a healthier and cleaner lifestyle. I am not just talking about food and drinks, but also personal care, cleaning and beauty products. I love trying and making new things, and this DIY deodorant is one of my favorites!

You may have heard about the dangers of aluminum in deodorants (or heard that it is all hype). From everything I’ve seen and read, I don’t have enough information to conclude with any level of certainty whether it is dangerous or safe or somewhere in between. Certainly, there are a myriad of other questionable ingredients (i.e., parabens, phthalates and triclosan) used in commercial deodorants that have come under scrutiny lately.

I do believe that human beings are meant to sweat. Sweating releases toxins and blocking toxins from being released in any way (chemically or manually) is probably not healthy. Thus, antiperspirants cause me to raise an eyebrow. Odor is caused not by the sweat itself, but by the accumulation of bacteria metabolizing sweat emitted from sweat glands. Different types of foods, illness, or even long periods of stress will result in different types of odors.

I also believe that it is better to be safe than sorry, and so I looked around for alternatives. I’ve tried natural deodorants, spray deodorants, and crystal deodorants. If you’re curious, take a look at: http://wellandgood.com/2015/01/27/7-effective-natural-deodorants/

Eventually, I came upon a recipe for a natural deodorant and tweaked it to my liking. It works better than any natural or unnatural deodorant that I’ve ever tried. My friends ask me for samples and they love it too. The best part is that it is very gentle and makes my skin unbelievably soft and smooth. You can even use it on your feet if needed.

This recipe uses coconut oil, which is antimicrobial, antifungal, and antibacterial and helps prevent the buildup of bacteria and, thus, naturally reduce odor. Baking soda, cornstarch and arrowroot powder help absorb moisture without blocking toxins, and the tea-tree oil helps disinfect and also smells great. A 2 oz batch will last me a couple months. It does require reapplication before and after working out, but it does the trick.

Try it and let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 tbsp organic extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1.5 tbsp raw organic shea butter
  • 1 tbsp organic arrowroot powder
  • 1 tbsp organic cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp baking soda
  • 3-5 drops tea tree oil
  • 3-5 drops lavender essential oil

Directions:

  1. Melt coconut oil and shea butter together in a double boiler (you can use a small glass bowl in a larger saucepan filled with water on low heat).
  2. Mix the rest of the ingredients in until it forms a smooth paste and pour into a glass jar.
  3. Allow the mixture to cool or harden in the fridge if a more solid texture is desired.
  4. To use, apply a small amount underarms as needed.
Leave a Reply

